“Done With” not “Done To”

As I set out on my assessment for learning journey I was very much aware that I would need to change a lot of what I did in the classroom – not just in relation to assessment, but in

  • how I talked about what I was doing,
  • how I approached the assessment tasks,
  • what I did with the tasks and info after it was marked and collated
  •  how I would make the learning intentions of my lessons very clear to students, and
  •  how I would share success criteria with students

I hadn’t really considered just how much my students would be expected to change as well.

  • Students would need to know where they were in specific learning areas
  • Students would need to know what exactly they needed to achieve in relation to stage outcomes and indicators
  • Students would need to know what they had to do to grow their learning to achieve their targets
  • Students would need to know how to set individual targets and how to collect evidence of their learning towards those targets
  • Students would need to be able to negotiate and use rubrics to describe their learning
  • Students would need to know and understand success criteria

It soon became obvious that this would need to be a team effort that both students and teacher would be working together to demonstrate achievement. That assessment couldn’t be done to the students, but would be worked on with the students.

Image: ‘3D Full Spectrum Unity Holding Hands Concept
3D Full Spectrum Unity Holding Hands Concept

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *