A to Z

Library 2.0 is an interesting concept that places the relationships between a library and its users in the hands of the librarian, who is charged with enabling open access to collections, services and knowledge through the thoughtful, judicious and calculated use of web2.0 applications.

My school library blog is a work in progress: moving it from a class based blog to one that demonstrates the learning that takes place in the library has been quite straight forward, but I am realizing that it will not take the place of a Library website as it is – there are changes to be made .

The post A to Z of Social Networking for Libraries (22 January, 2010) on the Social Networking for Libraries blog puts forward a number of ways that a librarian may use social media to extend the reach of the traditional library using web2.0 technologies. I will take five of the suggestions and reflect on how well (or not) these may be applied to my blog to help it embrace a Library 2.0 ethos.

“A = Active. In order for your library patrons to view you as being serious about your social networking and for it to work for you and your library, you need to use it on a regular basis.”

A timely (and time – less) problem for me at the moment. I am not posting as regularly as I could due for the most part to the fact that it is just me writing and posting with no feedback or responses AT ALL!  There is no student voice on the blog at the moment, no posts by students, no comments or interactions amongst students, no sharing of work that makes THE STUDENTS proud.

I must establish links with other libraries and classes studying similar topics to encourage sharing and commenting. I need to encourage students to write posts about what they are doing and learning, and share this with the school and wider community.

“D = Direction.  What are you planning to accomplish for your library with social networking?”

As a starting point in my Library 2.0 journey, I think that my Library blog is an effective way to form ongoing relationships with students and their families across the school. As a vehicle for sharing what is happening in the Library, the blog is great, however other essential aspects of the library such as information literacy, reference materials and reading advocacy must be available for students and families as well.

“G = Good Reads. Do your patrons need some ideas of what to read? Help them out with Good Reads.”

Now I know that Good reads have very recently been swallowed up by Amazon, but the idea of providing students with suggestions for what to read next is a good one! I know that Shelfari displays books that you are reading as a widget on your blog, but I will have to investigate if the group sharing part of the site is appropriate for primary school children.

“H = Help. Relying on only one or two people to build your library’s social networking presence will not work. It needs to be a whole team effort on behalf of your entire library staff.”

Haha – I AM the entire library staff! It is me or no-one :-0

 

“Z = Zeal. Is your library staff excited about the possibilities that social networking can offer your library?” 

YES! I am excited about the possibilities of social networking for my library. I follow many librarians from around the world and am inspired by the many wonderful ways they engage with students and each other as part of the everyday work going on in a school library. I am determined to work some of their magic as a TL in a Library 2.0.

Photo Attribution:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/36976184@N02/5496186373
Found on flickrcc.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *