First Few Days Scratching …..

 A few quick observations on trying out Scratch this week in my classroom:

“Can’t see a thing…”

  • we all had to find a way around the problem that the screens on the old computers in the classroom are too small
  • not all of the Scratch screen is accessible
  • kids came up with quick and easy work around   🙂

“I did it my way ……”

  • M went to the Scratch site and spent time looking at examples of games and animations to get ideas before she began
  • two girls went for the “Getting Started with Scartch” manual we had printed off the website. They didn’t even open it though, just sat on it as they played around
  • T sat alone at the back of the room – added sprites, changed background, and played around with sounds

“Looking for backgrounds …..”

  • Yell outs: “How do you change….”
  • Scuttling for the book/manual  ( me! )
  • Admissions – “I did it, but I don’t remember how …….”
  • “Try this …..”
  • “I think I did this …..”
  • “What about ……”
  • “Ummmm …………YES!”

“Just a suggestion…..”

  • Could we use photos as sprites ….?????
  • I want to …..
  • Maybe we can …..
  • I think it would be good to …..
  • What about …..
  • Hey, do you think that ……
  • Lets try …….

1 thought on “First Few Days Scratching …..

  1. Hi Mrs p,
    I’m amazed you haven’t got 100 comments on 1 post because all your posts are interesting. Scratch is soo much fun and is easy to understand so you figure it out in NO TIME! I think your blog is very interesting and will attract alot of attention, good attention 😉

    Ta-Ta
    Mikhaila 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *